Jo

I’m re-reading the final Harry Potter book and was inspired to draw the author, J.K. Rowling.

June 13, 2010

I like drawing older women.  There’s so much character in their faces that it’s easier to capture the likeness.  With younger, smooth-faced women, I don’t do nearly as well.  (I’ve got a few attempts at Natalie Portman which prove this.)

With this one, I was playing with a “reverse gradient” background.  That was the subject of my online tutorial this week.

BTW, not that it’s a “finished” drawing, but this scan makes the drawing look a bit rougher than it does in my sketchbook.

Leave a Reply

