Coach

I was surprised that no one could ID my latest drawing of  J.K. Rowling, so I tried to think of someone with a recognizable face who would be fun to draw.  A co-worker suggested a sports figure.

I skipped over the Celtics, because I haven’t had much luck drawing darker skintones, and I can’t find good reference pics of Larry Legend.  That brought me to the Pats.  I didn’t want to draw Brady, so that left me with either Kraft, Bruschi or Belichick as recognizable faces.  I went with the coach.

June 20, 2010

I’m not sure how good a likeness it is.  My wife thinks it’s good, but I’m not sure.  However, I seem to be the worst judge of that, especially after staring at the drawing for hours and days.  Stupidly,  I chose a pic of Belichick where he’s smiling, not exactly a recognizable look for him.

Still, I am happy with the depth of the drawing.  I made a conscious effort to go darker with my darks, and I think it worked out.

Leave a Reply

