Sam Jackson

Samuel L. Jackson as Jedi Master Mace Windu  from the Star Wars prequel movies.  I don’t recall if my reference image was from Episode 2 or 3.

July 5, 2010

I started this portrait about a month back, but it wasn’t working out for me, so I abandoned it.

The other day, I was trying to decide on my next portrait, to follow up my three recent successes, J.K. Rowling, Bill Belichick and The Boss.   I felt a bit intimidated by the blank page.  I find it easier to draw after a “failure”; there’s no pressure.

Fortunately, my wife noticed the abandoned Sam Jackson effort in my sketchbook and asked me what that was about.  As a cop-out, to avoid starting a new portrait, I decided to resume work on this.  How can there be any pressure in working on something that I’ve already labeled a failure?

After a few hours, and drawing on some of the lessons from the past month’s work, I found that this portrait was shaping up rather nicely and became quite enthused about the piece.  I think the result is nice.  It has a good sense of depth, and I think the tonal range is very good, for me.

Leave a Reply

