Back to the Drawing Board

Things came up a few months back which I, quite correctly, prioritized over my art, so I took September off from drawing.  No big deal, right?  Wrong!

That break in my routine killed all the momentum I’d built up with my drawing.  I got out of the habit of drawing nearly every day, and it was hard to get back into the habit.   So, September, turned into most of October.  I’d see my open sketchbook with a portrait that I’d started and I just couldn’t bring myself to dive back in.   When I’d try, I didn’t stay at it for very long.

Fortunately, in the last week or so, I’ve been regaining some focus.  I’m not quite all the way back, but I’m regaining some momentum and enthusiasm.

Here’s something I’ve been trying to work on for a while.

Nov. 7, 2010

I actually like parts of it, but I’ve been stuck on this one image for so long (without putting the time into it that it needs) that I’m really, really looking forward to starting a new piece.  Hopefully, that’ll happen by next weekend.

I’ll post a final clean scan of this portrait when I finally finish it.

Leave a Reply

