Older Picard

Here’s my latest drawing, Patrick Stewart from Star Trek: Nemesis.  Patrick Stewart from Star Trek: NemesisI’ve drawn Patrick Stewart as Picard probably more than any other subject.  The last time was several years ago.  On this page, you can see the various prior attempts.  This is an obvious improvement.  The others seem so crude to me now.

I drew this all using the same pencil, a 4B lead in a lead holder.

The drawing took a while, because I got distracted with painting miniatures.

The hardest thing about this drawing?  I decided to watch Nemesis one night while drawing it.  My goodness, that’s an awful movie.  Still.

Some Trek movies get better with age (Insurrection).  This one somehow gets worse.  I think it’s because the further we get away from it, the more certain I am that it’s the last time we’ll see those actors playing those characters.  And it’s a depressingly ignoble end to a great (TV and movie) series.

My next drawing might be really interesting.  I have an idea, but it scares me a bit.  We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

